Owners of former KLZR apologize for botching Kansas basketball game

When the station formerly known as KLZR switched to an all Top 40 format last week, KISS-FM inadvertently neglected to air the KU basketball game, causing a mini-uproad in Lawrence. Instead, it ran 105 hours of uninterrupted, commercial-free radio.

New general manager Jay Wachs has apologized in a letter posted on Facebook, saying:

This was a mistake of epic proportions and I wish to extend my sincere apology for this error in judgment. As a newcomer to the community, I was not aware of how crucial the 105.9FM signal was and is to KU Athletics, its sponsors and the community in general. The overwhelming negative response to my decision has clearly demonstrated to me that the 11th commandment is “Thou Shalt Not Mess with KU on 105.9…EVER!” Message received.

The station will be offering discounted ads to advertisers who lost air time, as well.

The full letter is below:

Jay Wachs, General Manager

Great Plains Media

3125 West 6th Street

Lawrence Kansas, 66049

January 27, 2012

Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Jay Wachs and I am the new General Manager here at Great Plains Media which includes radio stations 105.9 KLZR, 92.9 KMXN and 1320 KLWN.

On Friday January 20th, we began a 105 hour commercial free promotion on 105.9FM. As a result the University of Kansas’ basketball game was not broadcast on 105.9 KLZR on January 21st. It only aired on 1320 KLWN. This was a mistake of epic proportions and I wish to extend my sincere apology for this error in judgment. As a newcomer to the community, I was not aware of how crucial the 105.9FM signal was and is to KU Athletics, its sponsors and the community in general. The overwhelming negative response to my decision has clearly demonstrated to me that the 11th commandment is “Thou Shalt Not Mess with KU on 105.9…EVER!” Message received.

Our stations’ collective commitment to The University of Kansas athletics and academics is stronger than ever and will only continue to grow as we strive to serve the community and fulfill our mission and charter. We are taking measures to make good on the missed commercials as follows. Great Plains Media is offering to make good commercials missed in the game broadcast by a ratio of 5 to 1. For every $1 worth of commercials missed in our game broadcast we will make them up by offering $5 worth of make-good commercials. These make-good credits can be used on any of our stations at any time. In addition, the advertisers affected can also schedule a long-form business interview on 1320 KLWN Monday-Friday between 9am and 11am with John Flood beginning Monday January 30th. We will keep the offer open until every KU Men’s Basketball sponsor has been interviewed and there will be no time limit placed on the interview. Your account executives will be in touch with you this week to schedule your make-goods and interview.

Again, please accept my sincere apology for this error and respect my commitment to attempting to     make amends for my mistake. To err is human. To forgive is divine. I hope you can find it in your hearts to give me a mulligan and let my future actions demonstrate my commitment to you, your business and our community.

Sincerely,

Jay Wachs

General Manager-Great Plains Media

Leave a Reply

