LJWorld managing editor Dennis Anderson heads to Peoria

Dennis Anderson, managing editor of the Lawrence Journal-World for the last seven years, is leaving the paper to serve as executive editor of the Peoria Journal Star. His last day in Lawrence is tomorrow.

“I will miss Lawrence. The past seven years have been the most fruitful of my career, as a member of a great news organization and personally,” he said. “During my time here, the Journal-World has been recognized and maintained its status as a leader in digital news coverage. The organization and the community should be proud of that. Best of all, I have worked with some of the most dedicated, smart and creative people in our business.”

So why’s he leaving for the Land of Lincoln?

“There are a number of good things happening in Peoria. The Journal Star’s staff is strong and well-respected and understands its community. And the community supports the paper. I believe we have an opportunity in Peoria to expand and develop our digital offerings. To me, that sounds like a fun challenge,” he said.

He gave me my first job in journalism, and I’ll be eternally grateful.

The Journal-World is seeking a replacement.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Comings and goings « MediaKC

Leave a Reply

