KSHB’s Hernandez, KCTV’s Stewart sign off

Chris Hernandez, longtime KSHB City Hall reporter, and Matt Stewart, a KCTV anchor and reporter for the last eight years, bid KC adieu this week.

Hernandez signed off after more than 20 years as a reporter; he’s the new marketing director at the Unicorn Theatre. In an interview with the Pitch, he said he wasn’t completely sold on the idea of leaving TV news.

“I wasn’t really looking to leave TV news,” Hernandez said, “but the idea of making a complete career change had certainly crossed my mind. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to stay in TV news for my entire professional career.”

Previously he worked for FOX4, WEWS in Cleveland and Chicago’s CBS affiliate, WBBM.

Over at KCTV, Matt Stewart, co-anchor of the “More in the Morning Show,” signed off this morning. He was a casualty of a new morning team being brought in by KCTV.

“I leave with mixed emotions. I am sad to leave my wonderful co-workers, but I am excited about the adventure that awaits me,” he wrote on his Facebook page, according to Bottom Line Communications. “I plan to stay in television news and promise to tell you where I end up once it becomes official. In the meantime, I thank you for taking the time out of your busy lives to watch my newscasts and give me such wonderful support. Your words of encouragement have meant more to me than you’ll ever know.”
KCTV put together a nice farewell video for Stewart: see it here.

 

Leave a Reply

