David Guth, KU journalism prof, who tweeted anti-NRA message, apologizes

David Guth, the University of Kansas journalism professor skewered and suspended after tweeting an anti-NRA message following last month’s Navy Yard shooting, apologized in a letter to the Lawrence Journal-World Saturday.

Guth was put on an indefinite leave after tweeting, “The blood is on the hands of the #NRA. Next time, let it be YOUR sons and daughters. Shame on you. May God damn you” on Sept. 16.

In his letter to the editor, Guth wrote that he was sorry he caused anyone pain, and that his words were misinterpreted:

Some interpreted my tweet differently than it was intended: I don’t want anyone’s children hurt. The fact that my words were misconstrued is my fault — I am the professional communicator and I didn’t do a very good job. For that, I apologize. I also regret that my statements have had a negative impact on the university community.

KU said last week Guth would be able to return to the classroom in the fall of 2014, following a planned sabbatical for research.

Leave a Reply

