KC Star cops reporter Christine Vendel leaving paper

Longtime Kansas City Star reporter Christine Vendel is leaving the paper after 21 years. Vendel, the Kansas City Press Club’s reigning journalist of the year, will join the Harrisburg (PA) Patriot-News, she said.

Her last day at The Star is June 6.

Vendel’s husband took a job in Pennsylvania.

The Patriot-News won a Pulitzer Prize in 2012 for its coverage of the Jerry Sandusky scandal. Vendel said she will be covering everything from city hall to schools for the Patriot-News and its website, pennlive.com.Vendel’s work was recognized by IRE last year for her series “Many Bullets, Little Blame,” which examined difficulties police have in prosecuting shootings.Vendel said she’s sorry to leave Kansas City.

I always worked hard to dig up as many details as possible for every story, even the short ones of a few paragraphs, because every detail provides just a little more context and better informs our readers. I never wanted readers to walk away from one of my stories with unanswered questions.  This is one of the nicest emails I ever received at The Star: “My wife and I have enjoyed your vivid reporting, even if the local stories are anything but uplifting. No one else at the Star seems to put together the details as well as you. Keep up the good work.” I hate to leave, but I am eager to get my family back together. I hope to make a difference in Harrisburg.

Leave a Reply

