Billionaire John Pritzker cheers KC in letter to the editor

(I’m back for a quick post)

Everyone loves Kansas City. That’s the takeaway from the love showered on the city during the World Series. (Except Joe Buck.)

That includes billionaire John Pritzker, a scion of the Pritzker fortune of Hyatt Hotel fame. The real estate mogul, who’s worth $2.2 billion, according to Forbes, wrote a letter to the editor published in The Star last week, lauding KC and its people. An image of the letter’s been widely shared on social media.

I am a San Franciscan and a Giants fan who attended game six of the World Series in Kansas City.

Let me just say that never in my life have I enjoyed being so terribly outnumbered and, by evening’s end, absolutely clubbed into submission.

From the moment I hit the parking lot at Kauffman Stadium in my Giants gear, folks made a point to walk over, introduce themselves, welcome us to Kansas City and wish us good luck. People offered to buy us beer and brats.

Most mind-bending was the woman who apologized for the lopsided score.

My wife and our friends spent the better part of our flight home marveling at the generosity and warmth of the Royals fans and wondering whether we’d dropped into a parallel universe.

At some point, I recall announcing to my wife that I was prepared to move to Kansas City as soon as possible.

They refer to your part of the country as “flyover states.” Folks should make a point to actually drop in to Kansas City for a heaping helping of an America most people only dream about.

Take that, Joe Buck.

One comment

Leave a comment